Suggestions for your Valentine’s Day Evening

Happy Valentine’s Day, lovebirds!

I realize most of you like to treat your significant others to a romantic dinner at a fine restaurant, but for those of you who enjoy cooking, I have a little idea that might make your lover smile:

Make a chocolate roll. A big one.

For those of you who do not know what that is, it’s a soft chocolate cake wrapped around whipped cream. My family has a great recipe that always brings a smile to our guests’ faces. Out of pride I will not share with you the recipe in its entirety, but I will give you two tips that you may not find online or in a recipe book.

  1. Use Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate (60% Cacao). I’ve tried a bunch of different brands from all over the world, but nothing quite compares to theirs.
  2. Mix your favorite liqueur in the whipped cream; I prefer Grand Marnier. Remember: it’s strong and you’re not supposed to cook it, so be careful how much you put in.

I hope you all have a great evening with your loved ones. Or, if you’re by yourself, sit by your fireplace and enjoy a nice glass of G&T on the rocks (or whatever your favorite alcoholic beverage may be) while listening to some jazz or classical music. Maybe call some of your relatives, or invite your friends over for some savory crudités before going out to dinner. If you’re a night owl and live in a calm neighborhood, take a late night stroll and enjoy some fresh air; if you live near a forest, you might want to walk through it, given it’s safe to do so.

There are plenty of things to do alone, with friends and family, or with your significant other, so go and do something fun! I’m going to make myself sautéd chicken breasts with vodka tomato sauce… laced with a tablespoon of red pepper and a touch of Tabasco.

Leave a comment